Who controls the affected team's players when a player is controlled by an effect in a Two-Headed Giant game?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

In a Two-Headed Giant game, when a player controls another player's creatures or abilities through a specific effect, the player with the controlling effect becomes the one who has control over those affected creatures. The rules specify that control of a permanent, such as a creature, does not automatically revert to its owner unless the effect that grants control ends or is removed.

In this format, players are paired into two teams, and each team shares life points and turns. However, control effects do not consider team dynamics; they are applied directly to the individual player who activated the effect. This means that if Player A uses a spell or ability that allows them to take control of a creature that belongs to Player B on the same team, Player A would directly control that creature and be able to use it as if it were their own.

This interaction emphasizes the importance of understanding control effects within team formats and reinforces the concept that the specifics of control effects abide by the circumstances set by the card's text and the applicable rules, rather than the broader team context.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy