Which of the following is NOT included when copying a spell?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a spell is copied, the copy retains many characteristics of the original spell, but not everything is included in that copy. The correct choice indicates that the original controller's name is not carried over to the copied spell.

When a spell is copied, it retains the same card name, mana cost, and other properties such as modes and values of X. Targets and modes are significant because they determine how the spell interacts with the game and what effects it can produce. For example, if a spell has multiple modes, the choice of those modes is included in the copy, and the new copy can have a different target or targets than the original if specified.

However, the copy of the spell does not include the original controller's name. Instead, it is treated as if the player who created the copy is the one casting it. This affects how the game understands who controls the effects of the spell and any decisions that might need to be made regarding it. Therefore, the absence of the original controller's name in the copied spell is an accurate reflection of how spell copying functions in Magic: The Gathering.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy