Which layer applies first when resolving effects involving control changes and ability additions?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When resolving effects involving control changes and ability additions, the control-changing effects apply first. This is due to the order of operations defined in the comprehensive rules, specifically within the layer system.

In the interaction of effects, any control changes must be resolved before other types of modifications. This means that if a player takes control of a permanent, they do so before any abilities are added to that permanent. Consequently, any abilities granted after the control change will apply to the new controller of the permanent.

Understanding this layer order is crucial for correctly resolving interactions in the game, as failing to apply changes in the correct sequence can lead to misunderstandings of what abilities a permanent has and who controls it at any given time.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy