When a spell resolves, at what point are continuous effects generated by it given their timestamps?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a spell resolves, continuous effects generated by it receive their timestamps after the spell fully resolves. This is an important aspect of the rules governing how continuous effects work, particularly in the context of determining the order of effects and interactions in the game.

When a spell is cast, it doesn't immediately create its effects; instead, it goes through a series of steps known as the resolution process. Only once the spell has completely finished resolving and all its defined effects have been applied do those effects begin to exist in the game state. At that moment, they receive their timestamps, which indicates when they started having an impact on the game.

Understanding this timing is crucial because it helps players anticipate the interactions of various effects, especially when multiple effects may overlap or conflict. The other options do not accurately describe when those timestamps are assigned: they either suggest the effects are recognized before the spell finishes resolving or at arbitrary points in the game, which doesn't align with the established timing rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy