When a creature takes damage from a source with deathtouch, what occurs if its toughness is greater than 0?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a creature takes damage from a source with deathtouch, it is important to understand the interaction between damage and the concept of deathtouch. Deathtouch is an ability that ensures any amount of damage dealt by a creature with deathtouch is enough to mark that creature as being "destroyed."

Even if the toughness of the creature that takes damage is greater than zero, the important factor to consider is that damage is marked on that creature. If the total amount of damage marked on a creature equals or exceeds its toughness during a state-based action, that creature is destroyed. This destruction happens because it has received lethal damage (an amount of damage equal to its toughness or more). Therefore, the correct answer describes how the game resolves the situation during the state-based actions that check for creatures with marked damage.

The reason this answer is correct hinges on the mechanics of deathtouch and how damage is handled according to the Magic: The Gathering rules. Thus, the creature isn't immediately put into the graveyard upon receiving damage (which would suggest it doesn't have a chance to survive if its toughness were greater than zero), nor does it get tapped or turned into a token, as these options do not align with the rules

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy