When a creature is copied, what happens to any +1/+1 counters it may have?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a creature is copied in Magic: The Gathering, the copy is created as a new object that is based on the original, but it does not retain any counters or other modifications that the original had. This means that the copy is created in a basic form according to the printed characteristics of the original card, ignoring any +1/+1 counters it accumulated during the game. Since the copy is not just a duplicate but a brand-new instance of that card, it starts from a clean slate without any counters.

This concept aligns with the rules governing copying and the treatment of counters in the game, as the specific state of a card (including counters or any other changes) does not carry over to the newly created copy. Therefore, the correct answer emphasizes that the copy is created without any counters, accurately reflecting the rules of how copying functions in Magic: The Gathering.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy