What occurs when you announce a spell you are going to cast?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When you announce a spell you are going to cast in Magic: The Gathering, it moves to the topmost object on the stack. This reflects the game's structure where spells and abilities are managed through the stack, a game zone where players can respond to each other’s actions in a Last In, First Out manner.

When you announce the spell, it is put onto the stack, ready for players to respond with their own spells or abilities before it resolves. This process involves confirming its mana cost and paying any necessary costs associated with casting the spell, if applicable. At this moment, it is also important to note that the spell is not being resolved yet; it remains on the stack until all players have had the opportunity to respond.

The other possibilities do not accurately represent what happens during the process of announcing a spell. For instance, spells do not resolve immediately, nor do they go to the discard pile or get shuffled back into the deck at that stage. The correct interaction involves the spell being placed on the stack, awaiting resolution after any potential responses are addressed.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy