What occurs when a spell provides +4/+4 to the Gray Ogre after its power was increased by a counter?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

The situation described involves a Gray Ogre, which is a creature card with a base power and toughness of 2/2. If a counter that increases its power is already applied, let's say it received a +1/+1 counter, it would then become a 3/3 creature.

When a spell subsequently gives the Gray Ogre +4/+4, the increase in power and toughness is calculated on top of its current stats. With the +4/+4 effect, the Gray Ogre, which is currently a 3/3, would gain an additional 4 power and 4 toughness. So, you add 4 to the current power (which is 3) resulting in 7, and 4 to the current toughness (which is also 3) resulting in 7 as well.

The final stats after both effects are applied would be 7 power and 7 toughness, making it a 7/7 creature. Therefore, the correct answer reflects the final total after applying all enhancements to the Gray Ogre.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy