What occurs if an effect tries to attach a permanent to an inappropriate object?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When an effect attempts to attach a permanent, such as an Equipment or Aura, to an inappropriate target (for example, trying to attach an Aura to a non-creature), no action is taken and the permanent remains where it is. This is because the rules state that an effect can only attach a permanent if the chosen target is a valid recipient for that attachment. If the target is invalid, the action fails at the outset, and the original permanent remains unchanged and in its current zone.

In a situation where the target isn’t appropriate, the game does not perform any further actions regarding that attachment attempt. Therefore, the permanents involved stay put, and the game continues without any changes to their states or locations. This rule reinforces the need for targets to be valid for effects that involve attaching permanents.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy