What occurs if a creature is instructed to fight itself?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a creature is instructed to fight itself, it actually deals damage to itself equal to its power once, and it also takes into account the fight mechanic as it is applied according to the rules of the game.

In a fight, each creature involved deals damage equal to its power to the other creature. Since the creature is fighting itself, it effectively deals damage equal to its power to itself. However, there is no need to consider its toughness in this scenario, as the fight mechanism does not involve toughness but rather power to determine how much damage is dealt.

The specific outcome is that the creature will deal damage to itself based on its power, resulting in a single instance of damage being applied. As a result, the correct answer highlights that this damage occurs once, as opposed to multiple instances or different damage values.

This understanding aligns directly with the rules governing the fight mechanic in Magic: The Gathering, ensuring clarity on how damage is calculated in unique interactions such as fighting oneself.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy