What occurs if a copy of a spell is found in a zone other than the stack?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a spell is copied, it initially exists on the stack, and then if that copy is found in another zone, such as the graveyard or anywhere else, the rules of Magic: The Gathering state that the copy ceases to exist as a state-based action. This means that if the copy of the spell is no longer in the stack where it was originally placed, it no longer has any presence or impact on the game. In essence, since a spell can only apply its effects when it is on the stack, once it's found in a different zone, it is treated as if it has been removed from the game, and therefore ceases to exist.

This concept is rooted in how spells operate within the game. Copies must always be managed and controlled under specific rules concerning their zones. If a copied spell is moved to a different zone, it cannot be interacted with or returned without specific card effects that allow for such actions. The ceasing to exist ensures that there are no lingering effects or ambiguities regarding the state of the game concerning that specific spell.

Other options don't align with the established rules framework surrounding copied spells and their existence in different game zones. For instance, stating that it remains in that zone contradicts the fundamental rules

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy