What is the role of a triggered ability related to "leaves the battlefield"?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

The correct answer focuses on the nature of triggered abilities, particularly those that involve a permanent leaving the battlefield. A triggered ability that relates to "leaves the battlefield" specifically activates when the object changes zones, which includes moving from the battlefield to the graveyard, exile, or any other zone.

When a permanent (like a creature, artifact, or enchantment) leaves the battlefield, this change is what triggers the ability. The phrase "leaves the battlefield" indicates that the ability will trigger at the moment the object transitions out of the battlefield zone, reflecting the relationship exclusively between the zones involved.

This distinguishes it from other options. For instance, the notion of it activating before an object is removed does not accurately capture how triggered abilities work—they do not activate until the change of zones occurs. Similarly, a triggered ability resolving at the end of the turn is not a general rule, as it can resolve at any point during the turn, depending on when the ability triggered. Finally, the idea that such abilities cannot be activated by player actions misinterprets how triggered abilities function; they automatically trigger based on specific game events, while player actions involve activated abilities.

Therefore, the focus on the ability triggering when the object changes zones clarifies the mechanism by

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy