What is the result of using a non-double-faced card in an attempt to transform it?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a player attempts to transform a card that is not a double-faced card, the effect simply fails, and nothing happens. The rules governing card transformation are specifically designed to apply only to double-faced cards, which are the only types of cards that can transform under the right conditions. Non-double-faced cards do not have a transformation state defined within their mechanics, so when an effect is triggered that specifies transforming a card, and that card is not capable of doing so, the intended transformation cannot occur.

As a result, there is no alternative action, such as sending the card back to the deck or discarding it, and there is certainly no instant transformation into another state like a creature. Since the effect stipulates that only a double-faced card can transform, the outcome is that the attempt is unsuccessful, indicating that nothing happens, aligning with the choice you identified.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy