What is the outcome if a creature is dealt damage but retains a toughness greater than 0?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a creature is dealt damage but has a toughness greater than 0, it remains on the battlefield. Damage marked on a creature does not cause it to leave the battlefield unless its toughness is reduced to 0 or less due to lethal damage. Therefore, as long as the creature's toughness is higher than 0, it can continue to function normally, potentially dealing damage in return or being used for other game actions.

In this scenario, the other options do not apply. The creature remains on the battlefield despite having taken damage, which means it still can deal damage back during combat or use its abilities. The card will not go back into the deck or take additional damage unless there are specific effects that instruct otherwise. This underlines the importance of understanding damage and toughness in gameplay mechanics.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy