What happens to an activated ability once paid in its entirety?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When an activated ability is paid in its entirety, it resolves immediately, which means that the effect of the ability takes place right away following the payment of any costs involved. Once the costs are successfully paid, the ability goes on the stack, and players have the opportunity to respond to it. If there are no responses, or once all responses have been resolved, the ability resolves, executing its effect according to the card's text.

In this context, keeping in mind how activated abilities function according to the rules, it becomes clear that they do not get stored for later use, nor do they remain on the stack indefinitely. The resolution process ensures that the ability performs its intended action immediately rather than allowing for potential indefinite repetition or delayed outcomes. Hence, players cannot activate the same ability again until the next opportunity presents itself according to the game rules, reinforcing the principle that each use of an ability is distinct and must adhere to the timing and game mechanics in place.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy