What happens to a triggered ability with an intervening if clause if the condition is false when it resolves?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

A triggered ability with an intervening "if" clause must meet the specified condition not only at the time it triggers but also when it resolves. If the condition is false at the time the ability resolves, the ability does not take effect and is simply removed from the stack without having any impact on the game. This is because the ability's wording specifies that it can only do something if the condition is met at both trigger and resolution.

The other possible outcomes are not accurate in this situation. For instance, the notion that the ability would resolve and have no effect misrepresents the rules governing triggered abilities; if it does not meet the condition at resolution, it doesn't resolve in any meaningful capacity. Likewise, being put back on the stack is not how these abilities operate, as they either resolve as intended or are removed if the condition is not fulfilled. Triggering again immediately is also incorrect, as the ability does not reactivate itself based on conditions at that moment; it simply ceases to exist in its current form.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy