What happens to a creature that has 2 +1/+1 counters when a -1/-1 counter is added?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a creature has two +1/+1 counters and one -1/-1 counter is added, the interaction between these counters leads to a net result of one +1/+1 counter remaining on the creature.

Counters in Magic: The Gathering are applied in a way that their effects can cancel each other out. In this case, the creature starts with two +1/+1 counters, which increase its toughness and power count. When a -1/-1 counter is added, it effectively decreases the creature’s toughness and power by one. Since there are two +1/+1 counters, the addition of one -1/-1 counter will effectively neutralize one of the +1/+1 counters.

Thus, after the application of the counters, one +1/+1 counter remains on the creature. This process is not about the creature being destroyed or the simultaneous removal of both counters; it’s a matter of the counters offsetting each other. Therefore, the creature ends up with one +1/+1 counter after resolving the effects of both the +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy