What happens if an effect instructs a player to cast a copy of an object?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a player is instructed to cast a copy of an object, the correct process involves following the normal rules of casting spells, which includes timing and any applicable restrictions related to casting. This action occurs during the resolution of the effect that created the copy.

Casting the copy during another spell's resolution means that the copy is treated like any other spell being cast, requiring the payment of its mana cost (if it has one), and any other conditions that might need to be met based on the game state or rules. This nuanced interaction emphasizes the unique nature of "casting" within the rules of Magic: The Gathering, which maintains the integrity of the game flow while allowing for the introduction of copies of objects, or spells, into play.

Other options misinterpret the mechanics of how copies are introduced into the game. For instance, placing a copy directly onto the battlefield without casting does not align with the rules governing spell effects, nor do the other mentioned outcomes reflect the established procedures for casting, which is critical for maintaining an orderly gameplay experience.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy