What happens if a non-double-faced card is instructed to transform?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a non-double-faced card is instructed to transform, the outcome is that nothing happens. Transformation is a game mechanic specifically designed for double-faced cards, which have a front and a back side. If a card that is not designed to transform is instructed to do so, the rules dictate that the instruction has no effect.

The reason for this is that transformation requires a specific type of card printed with the double-faced mechanic, which includes a transformation instruction on the card. Since non-double-faced cards lack this characteristic, they cannot undergo any transformation, and thus no action occurs as a result of this instruction. This aligns with the comprehensive rules of Magic: The Gathering, which specify that if a card cannot transform for any reason, including not being double-faced, the action simply resolves without effect.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy