What does it mean to "attach" an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

To "attach" an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification means to take it from its current location and put it onto an appropriate object, such as a creature or a player. This action signifies that the enchantment or artifact is now linked to that object, allowing it to provide its attributes, effects, or abilities.

When attaching an Aura, it must connect to a valid target, which is usually a creature, but can also be a land or player for certain Auras. For Equipment, attachment denotes that the Equipment is actively equipped to a creature, meaning the creature can benefit from its effects, such as boosts to power and toughness or abilities granted by the Equipment. With Fortifications, attaching to a land provides defense or other bonuses to that land.

Other options describe actions that do not reflect the meaning of "attach." Discarding, moving to the graveyard, or activating an ability doesn't capture the essence of establishing a connection between the card and a suitable target on the battlefield. Thus, the correct interpretation focuses on physically moving the attachment to its intended recipient.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy