Is it possible to divide 3 damage so that one target receives 0 damage?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

The question revolves around how damage is assigned in Magic: The Gathering, specifically whether it's possible to assign damage such that one target receives no damage at all. The correct answer correctly notes that you cannot divide damage in a way that results in one target receiving zero damage when distributing among multiple targets.

When a source deals damage, it must assign the damage in a way that each target receives at least enough damage to equal or exceed their toughness in a combat scenario or any other relevant setting. For example, when it comes to a spell or ability that deals a specified amount of damage, the total damage assigned must be divisible among the targets in such a way that each target receives at least a whole number of damage points. This means that if you are dealing 3 damage to two creatures, the damage must be assigned in such a way that neither creature can receive less than 1 damage if you choose to target both.

Understanding this concept is crucial, as it influences strategy when determining how to split damage during gameplay. Players need to ensure that the distribution complies with the rules, which require targets to receive at least 1 damage unless otherwise specified by the card's abilities or ruling context. This ensures fairness in gameplay and consistency with the rules as laid out in the

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy