In a situation where a creature can trigger upon being blocked, what determines the trigger count?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

The correct answer is based on how triggers work in the context of combat in Magic: The Gathering. When a creature is blocked, it can have abilities that trigger upon being blocked. The trigger is initiated by the number of blockers, meaning that for each individual creature declaring a block against the attacking creature, the ability will activate separately for each one.

If a creature has a triggered ability that activates when it is blocked, the total number of blockers will determine how many times that ability triggers. For example, if it is blocked by three creatures, the ability will trigger three times, once for each blocker. This reflects the essential game mechanics where the interaction between the blocked creature and its blockers creates multiple instances of the triggering effect based on the number of blockers, not limited to any single blocker or the number of times the attacking creature has attacked or the overall attack presence.

In summary, the trigger count is determined by the total number of blockers as each blocker creates a separate instance of the trigger, leading to more impactful interactions during the combat phase.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy