If you put a permanent onto the battlefield during your end step that has an ability triggering at the beginning of your end step, will it trigger this turn?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

The situation describes a permanent entering the battlefield during your end step, specifically one that has an ability that triggers at the beginning of your end step. When a permanent enters the battlefield, the game checks for triggers. However, trigger timing is crucial in this scenario: since the permanent entered the battlefield during the end step, it does not see itself as a permanent that has been on the battlefield since the beginning of that end step.

According to the rules, triggered abilities that are dependent on timing will not activate if the source is not present in the appropriate step or phase. In this case, the ability is set to trigger at the beginning of the end step, but since the permanent entered the battlefield at that same time, it does not trigger immediately. Instead, the ability will be ready and waiting for the next instance that the end step occurs, which will be during your next turn's end step.

Thus, the permanent will be able to trigger in the next end step, confirming that the provided answer is accurate as it aligns with the rules governing triggered abilities and their interaction with the battlefield state.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy