If an effect references an object by name, will it apply if the object becomes a copy of another object?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

The correct answer indicates that an effect referencing an object by name will still apply even when that object becomes a copy of another object. In Magic: The Gathering, effects that reference specific objects by name are still linked to that original object, irrespective of changes it may undergo, such as copying another object's characteristics.

This means that if something changes an object into a copy of another, as long as the object that the effect refers to is still in existence, the effect will still apply to it. The underlying concept here is that the game maintains identity tracking for objects based on their original name and properties. Hence, even when the object becomes a copy, it retains the game’s recognition of its previous state, allowing any effects tied to its original identity to persist.

The other options do not accurately capture this principle. For instance, an assertion that it only applies to the original object neglects the fact that information about the object's identity continues even when it copies another. Similarly, the notion that it applies only if the copy is of the same type misunderstands how copying works in the game. Lastly, the idea that it must retain its name for the effect to apply incorrectly suggests that name change could invalidate the effect, when in fact the effects are still effective as

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy