If an effect attempts to attach a permanent to an object it's already attached to, what happens?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When an effect tries to attach a permanent to an object it is already attached to, the correct outcome is that the effect does nothing. This arises from the rules governing attachments in Magic: The Gathering, which state that if an effect attempts to attach an object that is already attached to something else, it simply has no effect.

There is a specific rule that clarifies this situation: if the object is already bound to another target or is appropriately attached, any new attempt to attach it to the same target essentially fails to create any additional effect. Therefore, the permanent remains exactly as it was before the attempt.

Understanding this principle is critical, as it impacts gameplay strategies involving enchantments, equipment, and other permanent attachments in Magic: The Gathering. While other options may suggest various actions, those outcomes do not align with the existing rules regarding attachments and how they function in this scenario.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy