If an ability triggers at the beginning of the upkeep and the upkeep is skipped, does it trigger that turn?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

An ability that triggers at the beginning of the upkeep relies on the upkeep phase occurring to be activated. If the upkeep is skipped due to a specific game effect (such as a card or effect that states the upkeep should be skipped), the conditions for that ability to trigger are not met. Therefore, the ability does not trigger at all that turn.

This follows the rules governing triggered abilities, which state that for an ability to trigger, the defined event must occur. Since the upkeep phase, which is the trigger event, is skipped, the consequence is that the ability simply doesn't have the opportunity to trigger at any point during that turn.

In this context, other options involving triggering in alternate scenarios do not apply since they do not address the fundamental rule regarding the acknowledgement and execution of upkeep as a necessary condition for the trigger.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy