If a trigger condition is prevented or replaced, what will happen to the triggered ability?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a trigger condition is prevented or replaced, the correct outcome is that the triggered ability will not trigger at all. This means that if the specific condition or event that would normally cause the ability to activate is blocked or modified in such a way that it does not occur, the ability is simply skipped entirely.

In the context of Magic: The Gathering, a triggered ability activates based on specific game events or conditions. If something happens that prevents that event from occurring, such as a spell or ability that nullifies the trigger condition, the ability does not enter the stack and thus does not have a chance to resolve. This makes it clear that the effect calling for the trigger is no longer relevant, as it hinges entirely on the initial condition being met.

This understanding is rooted in the comprehensive rules governing how triggers function, especially regarding the interaction of replacement effects and prevention. The other choices imply scenarios where the ability still manages to activate in some form, but that contradicts the fundamental rules surrounding how triggered abilities work when their triggering conditions do not take place.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy