If a spell copy is no longer in the stack, what happens to it?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a spell copy is no longer on the stack, it ceases to exist. This is due to the specific rule regarding how spell copies function within the game. A copy of a spell is created when a player casts a spell that creates a copy of another spell. Once that copy resolves or is somehow removed from the stack, it is no longer a game object and does not enter any zone such as exile, graveyard, or the deck. Essentially, spell copies are transient game objects; they exist only while they are on the stack, and the moment they leave that zone, they are removed from the game entirely.

In contrast, other options suggest that a spell copy enters a different zone, but that's not the case according to the rules. Once the spell copy is no longer in the stack, it does not go to exile or the graveyard, nor does it return to the deck; it simply vanishes from the game. This characteristic underscores the nature of spell copies and how they operate within the game logic.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy