If a double-faced card is removed from the battlefield, what happens to its transformation status?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a double-faced card is removed from the battlefield, it is placed in another zone, typically the graveyard or exile. The transformation status of a double-faced card is not retained when it leaves the battlefield. When the card returns to the battlefield, it does so from its new location (like the graveyard), and since the rules regarding transformation dictate that a card only transforms under certain conditions, it will return to its original state.

This behavior aligns with the comprehensive rules that state a double-faced card's transformation is a property that applies only while it is on the battlefield. Once it leaves, it is essentially treated like a different card that has not been transformed. Thus, if it returns to the battlefield, it will enter as its non-transformed side, maintaining a clear understanding of the mechanics behind double-faced cards and transformation.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy