If a copy of a spell moves to a zone other than the stack, what happens?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a copy of a spell moves to a zone other than the stack, it ceases to exist because copies of spells are unique in that they do not have a permanent existence outside of their original zone. According to the Comprehensive Rules, specifically rules governing copies, a copy of a spell cannot exist in the game if it moves from the stack to a zone where it is not allowed. For instance, if it were to move to the graveyard or exile, the copy would stop existing entirely.

This outcome is consistent with the rules about how copies interact within the game. Since copies are not considered to be “real” spells in the same way that cards that exist in physical form are, their departure from the stack into another zone results in their dissolution. The essence of magic rules indicates that once a copy leaves its original context—like the stack—it has no further function or existence.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy