If a copy of a creature has an extra ability as part of the copying process, what happens?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a copy of a creature is created in Magic: The Gathering, it captures all copiable values of the original object, which includes any abilities inherent to that object. This means that if the original creature has an extra ability—say, an activated ability or a triggered ability—this ability is also included in the copy of that creature.

The rules state that copying an object does not remove or alter the inherent properties of that object unless stated otherwise. This results in the copied creature having the same power, toughness, types, and abilities as the original. Since the additional ability is part of what defines the original creature, it is maintained in the copy.

This understanding allows players to strategize effectively when utilizing spells or abilities that create copies of creatures. It emphasizes the importance of recognizing how abilities are retained during the copying process, which can significantly impact game interactions and outcomes.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy