How can you identify if a triggered ability includes an "intervening if clause"?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

A triggered ability is characterized by specific wording that determines when it activates and the conditions under which its effect occurs. An "intervening if clause" particularly refers to a conditional statement that appears within the triggered ability.

In the context of the correct choice, triggered abilities that include an intervening if clause will format the statement in such a way that it clearly articulates a trigger by using the phrases "When," "Whenever," or "At," followed by the trigger event, and then the phrase "if" to introduce the condition that must be fulfilled for the effect to occur. This means that if the condition is not met when the ability is set to resolve, the effect does not occur.

This structure is essential because it directly impacts the timing and execution of the effect. If the condition is not satisfied at the time of the ability's resolution, the effect is suppressed. Therefore, identifying the presence of "if" in this context becomes crucial for judges and players alike to understand how and when these abilities will take effect.

Other options do not specifically address the characteristics of an intervening if clause and can lead to confusion. For example, while certain abilities may require costs or have secondary effects, these traits do not define whether an ability contains an interven

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy