Does sacrificing a permanent cause it to be destroyed?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

When a player sacrifices a permanent, the action does not involve destruction in the same way that some other game actions do. Sacrificing a permanent is a specific instruction that causes that permanent to be put into the graveyard, but it does not signify that the permanent has been destroyed. Destruction involves a different set of mechanics and can be responded to in various ways, such as with regeneration or spells that prevent the destruction effect, but sacrificing is a definite action that simply moves the permanent directly from the battlefield to the graveyard without the intermediate step of being destroyed.

The distinction is important within the framework of Magic: The Gathering rules, as certain abilities or spells can react differently to a permanent being sacrificed compared to it being destroyed. Thus, understanding that sacrificing a permanent constitutes a separate action from destruction aids in grasping the nuances of the game's mechanics.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy