Do state-based actions use the stack?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

State-based actions do not use the stack. Instead, they are actions that are automatically checked and resolved by the game rules without the need for a player to take any action or for the action to wait for player responses. When certain conditions occur in the game—like a creature having damage marked on it equal to or greater than its toughness—a state-based action is triggered to resolve that situation immediately.

This means that if a player has a creature that has been dealt lethal damage, it will be put into its owner's graveyard without requiring the player to use an ability or cast a spell in response. Since these actions occur as part of the game state rather than through player interactions, they bypass the stack entirely. This differentiates state-based actions from spells and abilities, which can be placed on the stack and respond to other events in the game.

Other options suggest that state-based actions might use the stack in some form, but that doesn't align with the fundamental principles of how state-based actions operate within the rules of Magic: The Gathering. State-based actions are immediate and happen as a result of the game state without player intervention, reinforcing the idea that they are not placed on the stack at all.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy