Can you target the same object more than once with a spell or ability?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

The question addresses the concept of targeting in Magic: The Gathering, which is governed by specific rules regarding how spells and abilities interact with targets. In this context, once a permanent or player has been targeted by a spell or ability, it cannot be targeted again by the same spell or ability within that instance.

Targeting refers to the action of choosing specific objects or players to be affected by a spell or ability. Each time a spell or ability resolves, it specifies its targets at the time of casting or activation. If you attempt to target the same object with that spell or ability again, the rules prevent this due to the uniqueness of targeting within that specific resolution.

While a single spell or ability may refer to multiple targets, and other spells or abilities can target the same object independently, each specific instance of targeting is exclusive to its resolution. Thus, targeting is limited to that single spell or ability for its own duration and resolution.

This principle clarifies why targeting can't be duplicated within a single spell or ability's effect: it preserves the specificity and integrity of interactions in the game, ensuring that targets are distinct and properly influenced by spells and abilities.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy