Can players choose the order of multiple triggered abilities they control when they trigger simultaneously?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

Players can indeed choose the order of multiple triggered abilities they control when they trigger simultaneously. This is an essential aspect of the game mechanics in Magic: The Gathering, as it gives players strategic options when resolving effects that might impact the game state in various ways.

When multiple triggered abilities occur at the same time, they are placed onto the stack in a player-defined order. This allows the active player to determine the sequence in which their effects resolve. Such control can be crucial, particularly when the abilities interact with each other; for instance, one ability might depend on whether another resolves first, or the timing of effects could significantly impact the game's outcome.

The other options outline various restrictions that do not apply in this scenario. The concept of "APNAP" (Active Player Non-Active Player) order pertains specifically to resolving triggered abilities when they come from different players, not when multiple abilities from the same player are involved. It is also important to note that there is no inherent requirement for abilities to resolve in the order they were triggered or randomly, as the player determines the stack order for their effects. Thus, the ability to choose any order enhances strategic play by allowing players to leverage their abilities in the most advantageous manner.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy