Can a triggered ability occur while something with split second is on the stack?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

Triggered abilities can indeed occur while something with split second is on the stack. This is because triggered abilities are not considered spells or activated abilities, and they don't rely on the player actively casting or activating them.

When a spell or ability with split second is on the stack, it prevents players from casting other spells or activating abilities until it resolves. However, triggered abilities automatically trigger as a result of specific events or circumstances and are placed onto the stack immediately once their triggering condition is met.

Since the presence of a split second spell does not interact with triggered abilities in terms of stopping them from being placed on the stack, it remains possible for those triggered abilities to occur. This distinction is key to understanding the interactions between split second and triggered abilities during the game's play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy