Can a player play more than one land per turn?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

In Magic: The Gathering, a player is generally allowed to play one land per turn during their main phases, as outlined in the comprehensive rules. This rule is a fundamental aspect of gameplay and ensures a consistent limitation on land placement that helps to balance the game.

The option stating that only one land can be played each turn is correct because it reflects the base rule governing land play. Players may have additional effects or abilities that allow them to play extra lands, but those are exceptions to the general rule. For example, cards like "Exploration" or "Azusa, Lost but Seeking" enable players to play additional lands each turn, but these are specific circumstances rather than a universal allowance.

The other options do not align with the core rules. The idea that a player can play multiple lands solely due to having abilities (the first option) is misleading since additional play actions stem from specific card text rather than an overarching permission. The notion of playing lands as an alternate cost (the third option) applies to spells and abilities, not typical land play. Lastly, the assertion that lands can be played during an opponent's turn (the fourth option) contradicts the rules governing turn structure in the game. Land play is restricted to a player's own turn and

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy