Can a player choose to transform a double-faced card without any spells or abilities?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

A player cannot choose to transform a double-faced card without a spell or ability instructing the transformation because the rules governing double-faced cards specify that transformation is an action that requires a specific condition met by a card or effect. Transformation is not a general action any player can take arbitrarily; rather, it is tied to the card itself or a game effect that instructs it to transform.

Double-faced cards have specific conditions under which they may be transformed, typically outlined in the text on the card or imposed through game mechanics, such as being cast as a spell. All transformations must therefore occur as a result of adhering to those conditions, which are initiated through spells or abilities.

The other options suggest scenarios where transformation could happen freely or under limited circumstances, but the rules clearly maintain that a spell or ability is required for the transformation process to take place. This reinforces the nature of double-faced cards in the game, keeping gameplay structured and predictable according to the rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy