A continuous effect generated by a static ability has the same timestamp as which of the following?

Excel in the MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready to ace your exam with confidence!

The correct answer is that a continuous effect generated by a static ability has the same timestamp as the object the ability is on. This is because timestamps in Magic: The Gathering are primarily based on the time an object enters the battlefield or the point at which a continuous effect becomes relevant.

When a static ability creates a continuous effect, it does so based on the state of the game at that time. The relevant object (such as a creature or artifact) that the ability is printed on or associated with determines when the effect starts to apply. Thus, the static ability and the continuous effect generated by it share the same timestamp as the object itself.

This understanding is crucial in determining which effects take precedence when multiple continuous effects are applied and helps clarify interactions during gameplay when different abilities or effects are in play at the same time. The other choices don't reflect this relationship as accurately in terms of timestamps and the game state.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy